Scenes from a coffee shop part 8

Feeling a bit stir crazy at home this morning I decided to go for a walk. It turned out to be quite eventful. The main street was mobbed with people, many more than is usual for a Saturday morning and a lot of them men. Then I found out why.

I walked passed a throng of men smoking outside a pub and overheard them talking about “The Football.” In Glasgow that can only mean one thing, Rangers v Celtic and kick off was in less than half an hour at noon.

I can certainly pick’em.

So, with some business in the Post Office to take care of, this took a while with a queue of twelve people, I evaded the masses as best I could and found a coffee shop. My ‘usual’ was stowed out, with people queueing out of the door and blocking the pavement, so I chose another I occasionally visit.

And here I sit, with the white blouse and coffee and cake brigade all around me I laugh inwardly when a man asks for brown sauce with his food only to be given tomato. If only the problems of the world were as trivial as that.

A very loud talkative lady in denim comes in with an older man, her father perhaps, maybe/maybe not. On reflection after a few moments I would say not, but then, the world is a curious place these days.

I look around and survey the scene. A couple of ladies are peering over a mobile phone, another ‘couple’ are looking past each other and I realise that denim lady may not be as young as I thought, or maybe she is. I can’t tell without appearing to stare, I decline.

Elsewhere, a mother nurses her child and another ‘couple’ are sitting as far away from each other on a large leather sofa as is possible. Their conversation is low and limited.

Well, I’d better go before the half time rush for a rag blocks the streets, until next time.

Keep writing…

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in Glasgow, lifestyle, managing your writing, research, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, the news, The Writers' Summer school Swanwick, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

