Why I’m Not Doing NaNoWriMo This Year

First up I want to say what a great idea NaNoWriMo is, it encourages people to write and we need more writers in the world than we do corrupt politicians and uncaring governments.

But, I am not doing it this year for no other reason than I have a mountain of other written books that need my attention in editing and so on. In the last 2 to 3 years I have written 8 books, three as a fantasy trilogy and five as a series that starts as Middle Grade and grows with the main character as he grows into adulthood.

My creativity has also fleshed out the bones of a second trilogy to follow the first and at least two more of the other series. So I am lucky in that I get the ideas and have the urge to write them.

The issue for me is that I lack good editing skills of my own work. I fail to see the errors and they remain. I have very little financial backing behind me so I have to rely on beta readers who are kind enough to do a beta exchange, mine for theirs. I am not, as yet, blessed with the funds to pay for  good professional editing services. That will have to wait for a while.

With all that in mind, I don’t see the point of writing a ninth book that will sit on the shelf waiting for the time when I (or someone else) can edit it, when there are many others in the queue in front of it.

I still write down my ideas and maybe write out a few pages of notes when I get that flash of inspiration, it is all kept and stored, never lost or wasted.

So for now, I shall follow my friends on the social media and watch as they fly towards their goals this November and wish them a successful writing month.

Keep writing!

p.s. If anyone would like to beta read and comment on my books, I would be happy to exchange with theirs. Drop me a comment below.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, managing your writing, NaNoWriMo 2015, research, selling your books, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, The Writers' Summer school Swanwick and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

