The variability of writing patterns

I have always, up until now, been a long haul writer. I am able to sit and write for long periods at a time and produce great daily word counts, frequently over 5,000 and often over 10,000 words a day.

I know what you are thinking and I completely agree, writing is very personal and is a marathon, not a sprint.

At the moment, I am writing the fourth in a YA fantasy series and I find I am not able to find the daily creativity to advance the story on more and 3,000 words a day at the most. Previously, that would have been a relatively poor day, but I keep reminding myself that I am after a great story and if it comes slower this time, so be it. Just as long as it keeps on coming.

I still make my minimum mark of 1,500 words per day but don’t get all out of sorts if I have a day or two without looking at the story or advancing the writing. Again, before, this would not have happened. Not a chance.

I take comfort that when I read what has been written, I am still pleased with it and maybe as I get better at writing I am able to focus on the writing that advances the story, rather than write a lot of words that have to be deleted at a later date. I can’t tell if that is true yet, but again, I don’t beat myself up about it either way.

I would be interested to know what your writing patterns are and if they have change with time

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, managing your writing, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

