The “final” edit

There comes a time when you have read through your precious manuscript so many times and dealt with all of those little things that all you are doing is tinkering and not making changes that are productive.

I am at that stage with 3 novels and one non fiction work. the last of the three, Fendrel’s Tale Volume 2 The Sullen Lands sits at my left hand as I type this blog and both the Sullen Lands and I know that this is the last read through and one that will prepare it for epublishing.

At this stage preparing for epublishing is nothing about the story or the words, it is simply about getting the formatting right. Now, I shall be honest with you, this is a ball ache. For me, there is nothing pleasurable about it at all other than knowing that when I can hit the “publish” button on whichever ebook publisher I chose it will be right.

This is where the “show hide” button comes into play and is a very valuable tool. You will find all of those places where you have put a space after the full stop before hitting return, sometimes two spaces and on occasion three.

Why does this matter? I hear you ask.

it matters because the ebook formatting system will take what you have given it and if things are not defined or defined wrong, it will do its own thing and suddenly you will find lines non justified properly, doubles spaces on lines that stick out like a sore thumb and a whole lot of other things that make the text ugly.

But, the excitement is there when in just a few short weeks I will have more books in the ether for you to read. I am certain some of you will like Fendrel and his exploits.

I shall keep you posted as I save as much as I can to get the cover I want. Once the cover is done, it is all systems go.

Keep writing.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, Fendrels' Tale, managing your writing, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The “final” edit

  1. sjoycarlson says:

    I’m about getting to that point with my perpetually nearly finished novel as well haha.

Leave a Reply

