My busy autumn and winter, so far

Some of you may have noticed that my usual many times a week postings have dried up a bit of late.

There are good reasons for this. It has been because of my writing and it is time to fill you in on what had been going on.  

I have a fantasy faery story trilogy that I have been working on for a long time. All three are written and Vol 1 has had a serious work out in this last 6 weeks. As the 140,000 word 8th draft, I sent it to a copy editor and she picked up so many things it took a week to fix. This dealt with a lot and cut the length down to 128,000 words. Two more seriously brutal reviews by me cut down some very long chapters and I did the “does it add to the story?” edit.

The “does it add to the story?” edit is a major piece of work on a manuscript. Instead of looking for “hey this is great” or “I love this part” passages, for me I have to go through every word, sentence and passage and ask the brutal question, “does this add to the story?”

If the answer is “NO” then no matter how well written it is or how much you like it, you have to cut it out. Be brutal, it is essential that you are.

Since dealing with the copy editor comments I have done a further review and another print off followed by yet another review. Now a sprightly 117,000 words I believe it is time for it to spread its wings and see how well it flies. I shall keep you posted.

The second and third books of the trilogy have been sitting maturing for a while, they will need to be looked at again quite soon.

That has not been all, far from it.

In a four week period from the end of September to the middle of November I wrote three more novels. One was my NaNo submission. These are a series aimed at the Young Adult audience and are between 56 and 60,000 words. All three have had their first brief read through. I am torn between writing another in the series or using what I have learnt from my copy editor to give them all a thorough going over. I suspect it will be the latter.

It has been a busy end to this year and the urge, no need to write remains as strong as ever. I am not one for great resolutions based on some arbitrary day on someone’s calendar. However, I do believe that if one choses too one can make changes to one’s life that will bring good fortune and a brighter outlook. Don’t wait for someone else to tell you it is time to get working on that thing that drives you, do it NOW.

I will be writing, editing, proof reading and doing a lot of research on agents and publishers of fantasy faery stories and YA fiction in the coming weeks and months.

I shall keep you posted.

 

Remember this one piece of advice, you do not need permission from anyone to be true to yourself. Look in the mirror and do it.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, Fendrels' Tale, managing your writing, my blogs, NaNoWriMo 2013, NLP, psychology, publishing, research, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

