My NaNoWriMo experience

We all know that writers are a peculiar bunch and have their own foibles and ways that would draw a furrowed brow from others, so the ways in which writers can get their motivation can be equally as diverse.

I tend not to have a problem writing first drafts, I can think of my topic, characters and plot and after 2 or 3 pages of high level outline notes I can get cracking. I suppose it is because deep down I have already been thinking and planning the novel in my head for some time before hand.

This one for NaNoWriMo 2013 is different. I had just written two YA novels as first draft and hadn’t really got to grips with another story. The current word length wisdom for YA is about 60,000 words, so once I get into the swing of writing I can do that in 2 or 3 weeks without a problem. I know I am lucky in that.

Anyway, I was busy doing other things at the beginning of November so I didn’t start and hadn’t decided whether I would do a NaNo this year or not, so it was a bit of a ‘what the heck’ decision and I started it on the 6th. It is now done, first draft weighing in at 54,304 words, with NO editing. It is the third in a series.

Like the first two in the series I shall let it mature for a while before going for a read through and passing over to Beta readers.

I thoroughly enjoyed my NaNo this year, I just have to hold myself back from writing more, when I have plenty of books in various stages of drafting that could do with editing.

So, good luck to others on the NaNo and hope to hear from you at the end of it.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, managing your writing, NaNoWriMo 2013, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My NaNoWriMo experience

Leave a Reply

