The stuttering start, time to persevere

All writers will tell you that however well they can write when they are in the groove and are flying along without the aid of a safety net, writing a book can be hard work. There are all the little things and not so little things that can sometimes (if you let them) conspire to distract you, put you off and get on your nerves so that the writing becomes more cumbersome and difficult to crack on with.

Most of the time when I am writing I am on automatic pilot and can be in the zone cranking out 5 or 8 or over ten thousand words a day without any apparent difficulty. I am tired by the end of it, but the sense of achievement keeps the adrenaline rising and the words keep flowing.

I said most of the time, there are times like right now, when it is not flowing, it is a chore and even a right royal pain in the backside.  But I know I have to persevere, the story is writing itself in my head and I need to get it down so that the flow of input to output is kept at a manageable level and I don’t end up liked a backed up toilet. No nice and not easy to fix either.

I am also in the midst of a so far 3 week bout of a head cold that has just gone to my throat and no matter how many decongestants and aspirin I take, it never goes away. This may be the route of the problem, but it may also be that the piece I a am writing is the link between two separate parts and the next part is far more exciting. So, I need to bridge quickly and efficiently to get to the other side without making too great a conceptual leap and lose my readers. On the other hand, I know they are a clever and indeed insightful band of readers, so I don’t want to insult their intelligence or patronise them either.

So, this writer is just going to have to tough this one out and trust that when it comes to the review and edit stage, I can make sense and justice of this part in an apparently seamless and competent way.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, managing your writing, research, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

