When does a writer start writing a new book?

Simple question, far from simple answer.

All writers are different, that is a given and an absolute stonewall certain fact.

My “style” has changed in the last year or two and it may just be as simple as “I am doing a lot of writing and it just flows”. But up until recently, I will make lots of notes, map things it in my head and on paper and really getting to know the location, characters, plot, pace and all of that.

Now, I find myself in the position where I am waiting for “others” to act on some of my writing and consequently am in a bit of limbo. There is only so much you can do to a manuscript on your own, you do need that third party feedback and views on it.

So, out of the blue three weeks ago I had a light bulb moment and an idea came to me. I wrote it down, made a couple of pages of notes and a couple of days later I started writing. It is a children’s book aimed at 10 to 14 (possibly 12 to 14).

22 days later after 18 writing days the first draft was complete at just under 77,000 words. The first read through is done and minor changes made, and now, it is in the drawer maturing for a while until it (and I) are ready to give it a better look, then it will be off to beta readers.

So how does this answer the question posed in this blog? The answer is I don’t know, and it changes but somehow I get the inspiration and once the idea is there it is full steam ahead until complete.

I used to be a big planner and take my time with that pre-writing phase, now, well for at least the moment, it is eyes down and write, write, write.

Yesterday I drew a map and made some notes for the next book in the series, I started writing it this morning.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in managing your writing, research, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

