Why writers are emotional wrecks when they finish their book

If you happen to know a writer then it is pretty much a sure bet that sometimes when you meet them they are just an emotional wreck and are completely wasted.

This is especially the case when they are writing sad, emotional or particularly uplifting scenes in their book, or are at the review stages. Reviewing a book can be a dreadful thing for the writer because they are so much a part of the story, the characters and so on that they feel everything that happens in the book so deeply and personally that they take on all of this raw emotion from so many different people and personas that they just have to let it out somewhere.

They become this wreck of a person, emotionally overloaded and unable to cope with anything. I have just written a sad part in my latest book and I couldn’t see the keyboard or the screen. It was just a mass of blurry images as I tried, very unsuccessfully to pull myself together and get a grip.

It just was not possible and I had to reach for the tissues. It is a good job one of my characters had a magical tissue pocket and I managed to use one of hers…… lol.

One of the problems this creates is that I know before I am done I will have read this book maybe twenty or thirty times and I know that each time I get to particular parts, it will be emotional overload.

“Why put yourself through such angst”, I hear you cry.

Because I am a writer and I have to, came the reply.

So, the next time you meet up with your writing friends spare a thought for their emotional state, they may have just killed of the hero or heroine and will be a basket case. Be gentle with them or who knows, you may end up as the next victim of the evil Mr Swinton……..

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, Fendrels' Tale, managing your writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

