That special feeling you get when you know your writing is singing

I have just looked back at my blog spread sheet and have surprised myself to notice that it has been over a week since I last posted. That must be a first in all of this time, but still somehow I have managed to miss blogging.

Well today I am back in the chair and am working on something completely different and new. It is just a few days old but it is grabbing my attention with every passing word.

I know this is a good sign and I have actually done one of the things I hate doing, I have stopped writing that work to blog you. It is the stopping what I was writing that I hate doing, unless I have come to a logical end or there is a natural break. So, here I am today, back in the saddle (allowing for frequent posture adjustments and changes) and I am writing a loving scene between a grandmother and her grandson as they watch a hailstorm outside. As I write that wonderful familiar overwhelming tingling sensation washes over me so fully that I have to smile and shake my hands. It is such an intense feeling, it is truly intense and a sign to me that is my “yes” signal.

We all have our own signals, sensations or feelings that can signify different things. I am lucky in that I have been able to tune into my body and listen to the feelings that I get. I have been able to calibrate them so that I know what each means. The overwhelming tingling sensation is most definitely “yes, this is what is supposed to happen,” a signal of agreement, a signal of acceptance and confirmation that I am doing the right thing.

It is an unmistakeable sign for me. Just as I know that I have several “no” signals, each with a different meaning and each being a different sensation within my body.

So my friends, I am now in that zone where I know I am writing the correct thing, doing what I should be doing and the plans in my head for the next part of the bigger picture of the story are also on track. It is a joyous place to be and I shall try to remain there for as long as I can and keep that momentum and keep connecting to the Great Story that has given me this part to tell at this time.

it is some distance of being complete, a long way from being complete, but I know that if I keep at it, it will come.

Just like the baseball field built in a field of corn, if you build it, they will come……

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, managing your writing, my blogs, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That special feeling you get when you know your writing is singing

  1. therefugia says:

    Reblogged this on TheRefugia.

Leave a Reply

