Today’s random thought

I have been pondering many things over the last few days, primarily because I have been away from home attending a shamanic conference. I like pondering and thinking about the ‘what if’ questions and so on. It keeps my mind sharp and more importantly something may come from such apparent banality that can help my writing.

For a writer, well this one any way, not having a creative thought or piece of inspiration when you need it is a big thing. I need to feel in the groove, be in the zone as some might say of a sportsman. I am very much aware that I can be completely different to every other writer and yet, at the same time can be in the same position. It all makes sense to other writers who, for some time in their creativity can get very insecure, so to be able to hang on to something is very much a necessity.

For me, part of that clinging to the wreckage is always looking for the creative spark or thing in everything I do, see or hear. I am never ‘off duty’ even when writing this blog, I am listening to what is going on around me and paying attention to the sounds and nuances of the apparently mundane. Someone somewhere may say or do something that I can use in my writing somewhere. My file is always open waiting to receive what will come to me.

I stayed in a fine ‘stately home’ type of place, it is a grand house, with beautiful grounds a lake and so on, so there is plenty of ‘nature’ on my doorstep that I can bring to my creativity. There are also about a hundred people here so the list of new personal characteristics and people has been filling up at every chance. It is to good an oportiunity to miss.

Even the creaky floorboards and toilet seats that do not close properly, the hard to open taps and silly corner showers with two sliding doors are taken in, filed away ready for use somewhere. Nothing is wasted and I hope, nothing is overlooked or missed. Even the daily changing supply of biscuits has been noted and recorded. Most of them have been sampled, for research purposes you understand.

So, never let any opportunity pass you by and always be on your guard for that little gem, you wouldn’t want to miss it or let someone else get their first would you?

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in managing your writing, my blogs, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

