A timely reminder to backup……

Today, my normally trusted, reliable and let’s face it, essential computer did the unthinkable on me. It died.

It died so well that no command were accepted and there was absolutely nothing I could do. Well, that isn’t strictly true, there was nothing POSITIVE I could do. I did a lot of negative, you know, questioning the computers parentage and so on.

No matter how many times I waited and “let it do its thing” or intervened and did a forced shut down and re-boot (most highly NOT recommended) followed by the inevitable “safe mode” reboot and interrogation, the darn thing just simply would not act as it should.

It gave me a timely reminded about backing up and saving your work and there were 2 things of note that could have been lost. Firstly, as I reported yesterday, a 2000 word insert into the third volume of my fantasy faery story trilogy and secondly, the 2 pages of outline notes, thoughts and ideas for the next trilogy.

So, it was all important stuff and I was not happy that the machine would not act in any way. It was a harrowing hour I spent here, willing this computer to work and now that I have managed to fix it, whether by luck, judgement or just the passage of time, the first thing I did was to back up to my external hard drive and print the 2 pages of my next work.

I am passing this on, a “pay it forward” if you like and hope that with this chance escape from a major calamity and possible nervous breakdown, you will back up your work NOW and not wait until there is too much to lose.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, Fendrels' Tale, managing your writing, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

