That long edit inspired a whole new piece of work

Yesterday I wrote about doing an edit to the second draft of my Trilogy Fendrel’s Tale Volume 3 The Forgotten Kingdom. In that blog I described how the edit had become its own beast and went out for a long walk in the sun. At the time of the blog I had added in a new scene at around 800 words and it still had plenty more to go.

Well, I finished that edit and it turned out to be an extra 2000 words or so to the book. I knew it was significant because I could not keep up with the typing,  it was appearing in my head quicker than I could get it down. This is always a good sign that I am well and truly “in the zone” and the work I was adding complimented the story and didn’t grate against it.

Most of the edit was in one place, but critically, it required the addition of just one sentence to a chapter much closer to the end of the book. It makes something enticing, a sense of something to come and for me, after I had written it, I realised that it was the doorway to a completely new story and a follow on trilogy from the one I am writing.

This is truly a wonder because I was trying to figure out if the story somehow had “legs” and could be developed into a follow on book. This is a difficult thing to consider because the trilogy is its own complete package and I wouldn’t want to take anything away from that story coming to its conclusion, but, if there was a way to take it further to another place, that would be good too.

Well, last night it happened and I rushed for a piece of paper to write down 1 page of scribbles. That was all it needed and sometime in the future, that 1 page can be developed into a full 3 volume trilogy.

Now that is more than just fantastic, it is the stuff writers dream of and it is now there, on paper. My task is to let that idea grow, develop and expand over the coming weeks and months until quite some time from now, perhaps even next year, I will be able to start to write that work. I know it needs to grow, mature and have its own creative time to fully come to the fore, but I am willing, able and have the resources to cope with it when it happens.

I even have a brand new notebook ready for the flashes of inspiration to be written down. This is all good, it is as it should be, now I have to be patient, but I do know that when it is ready, the story will be shown to me and I will be able to write it.

And all of this is because I listened to my creativity and understood that this one flash of inspiration would enhance my book. It felt so good that it gave me the insight for more work.

In my new book, The Handbook Of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Handbook-TIPS-Manage-Your-Writing/dp/0954733622/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1374740361&sr=1-5&keywords=andrew+marsh

I provide more details of this and other TOP TIPS that can aid the writer to make the absolute most of their creative ideas. Now available on Kindle and as a paperback on Amazon.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, Fendrels' Tale, managing your writing, my blogs, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

