When a little addition becomes its own animal

I am in the post write editing and proof reading stages of 4 books. A trilogy and a completely different adult crime thriller. Every now and then, like all writers, I get a flash of something to “fix” or attend to in one of my books, and like all good writers I write that thing down right away.

I started doing one of these small fixes yesterday and got interrupted by something I had to do. (Unlike me, I usually complete the fix then do the other thing, but it just had to be the other way yesterday). So, I have re-started the fix. The “problem” is that it has become its own beast and is cranking up the word count quite a lot. So far, I have added about 800 words and I am nowhere near completing the fix. For every two sentences I write, another factor comes into play and to keep the flow and momentum, I just have to keep up with it.

When these things happen it is important to allow the additional material to flow and give it the space to see how and why it fits or feels important to the story. It can always be edited out later, but, like the dog who has had its lead taken off, let it go for a run and see what transpires. Something quite wonderful may be about to happen and the writer shouldn’t be too quick to put it back in its box.

After all, it hadn’t occurred to me during the first draft, so why now? I am going to see what additional creativity I have been given to increase the depth of the story.

Sounds like a good plan to me.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, Fendrels' Tale, managing your writing, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

