The writing Gods must be against me right now!

It certainly feels like it. Two things have happened in the last 12 hours that make me think I have pissed off the writing Gods right royally at the moment. Yesterday I committed a cardinal writers’ sin and with all my notes, notebooks and 7 previous drafts, I got two peoples names mixed up and need to read the whole MSS again and try to find the one mistake that compounds the problem. Even with my chapter summaries, I have to read from start to finish.

Today, right now as I type, my printer is printing out the MSS when after a previous flawless and faultless 14 years of work through tempest, tantrums, telephones and whatever else as well as tens of thousands, ney probably well over a hundred thousand sheets it jammed. My beloved and well looked after printer did its first paper jam.

It was easily fixed this time, but it is the thought that my printer may now be approaching old age and will need nursing through these troubled times. I have 4 books on the go at the moment, something like 700 single sided pages of work. I can ill afford problems with my trusty printer. We have been through such a lot together, 6 books, a divorce, three house moves, many toner cartridges and a few drums.

Writing would not be the same for me if my printer went to the recycling centre, it just wouldn’t.

One can only hope it was a simple glitch and the writing Gods will look down on me with better favour very soon.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in managing your writing, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

