When I am not writing, I am still being a writer

Since I got hooked as a writer and accepted that I am a writer, for good or bad, long or short, I am a writer because I have to write and I have stories to tell. Since that acceptance has settled in me and I acknowledge and embrace it, I am never not a writer. I may not be physically writing as I am now, with this post, but I am always being a writer.

This is because as writer I am never asleep. A writer may be dormant, but I can bet you that something is mulling around somewhere in their heads that at some time in the future it will spill out onto the page and look like it has always belonged there.

I am always looking and listening, taking down minute details of everyday life and not even being consciously aware of it, but I know it happens, I can feel it, I know that file or folder in my head is getting fuller and fuller every day with new snippets of information. New links or connections are being made between existing piece of data and new data is being added all of the time. Sometimes when a writer is not “writing” and apparently sitting doing not very much, they are actually in their busiest and most intense periods of creativity.

I can’t help it, I am a people watcher, I love seeing the close interaction of people, circumstances and situations develop. How did they stand? what were their eyes doing? was it the same as their words? their arm movements? All of these things are being noted in intricate detail for use sometime, somewhere, somehow.

So for this writer, I am always in my craft, my zone, that place of creativity, amassing, assimilating information and compiling, rearranging and sifting into useful and meaningful data for that next phase of another project.

It means my hourly rate sucks big time, but until that day when the phone rings or the long overdue e-mail lands in your inbox, it will remain a crap hourly rate, for I can only write and be a writer. Even and perhaps most often when I am asleep.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in managing your writing, The Handbook of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When I am not writing, I am still being a writer

  1. boredlandia says:

    As long as I’m still breathing I’m writing. You never what story will stick but when one sentence begins another story is ending. What a wild, exciting, exhausting, crazy awesome mind we get to be in!

Leave a Reply

