Your writing environment, quite or noisy?

Following on from my blog earlier today about your writing space, I would like to talk about whether you, the writer writes in silence or with music in the background.

For me, first time writing of new material is always done in total silence, no music, no radio, nothing, just the sounds of the house and whatever is going on outside. I need that peace so that I can concentrate and focus on being in “The Zone”without any distractions. That way, I am totally “IN” writing mode and can be there for an age. Only troubled by the need to refresh or relieve myself.

Now, editing and proof reading is another scenario altogether. When doing that it is usually loud music, heavy rock, big classical orchestral pieces. Music with life and vitality and it helps me keep the sometime drudgery of the process in check.

It would be interesting what your writing zone is like, let me know, there may be a trend or I may just be an oddball, it happens.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, Fendrels' Tale, managing your writing, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

