A writers’ inspiration, where does it come from?

To me, this is a tricky yet fascinating question, and can be answered on several different levels.

On a basic level one can answer, “I had a great idea and it developed from there.” Quite true, but I am not sure that statement really answers the question.

Where did that idea COME FROM?

Did it come in a dream? Did you see something in the street, on a bill board? Was it in a magazine, on the radio, a flash of something on a webpage that you weren’t really paying attention to. So many possibilities and so many more.

Or, is all of this potential for ideas, creativity and “art” in the widest sense just an individual tapping into The Great Story. One story that encompasses every idea, thought or possibility and it is “floating” around us, within us and in all of the spaces in between the spaces just waiting for someone to connect, understand and extract it out into its own separate story. Something that becomes unique and has its own identity, yet, when looked at from a different perspective, all comes from and is part of The Great Story.

I do not know for sure, all I do know is that when I am connected and “jacked into” the ideas, I am lost in my own world and allow myself to be open to receive what I am to be given with just enough “modem speed”, or more correctly, slow enough for my fingers to type and get written what comes to me.

I am interested to know your thoughts on a writers inspiration.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in fantasy faery story, Fendrels' Tale, managing your writing, psychology, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

