What inspires you to write?

A tough question to pin down and find and answer to, for on the face if we are all creative beings and creativity should come naturally. Yet, when thinking about it, it becomes difficult, rather like trying to nail a blancmange to a wall.

Tricky, very tricky.

For me, sometimes inspiration just comes like an overflowing bucket of water. No matter how much I write and “remove” some water from the bucket by writing and writing, there is still too much and it overflows.

My cup overfloweth.

This is a good thing because I know that once I have formulated my ideas, it is all systems go at Warp 9.9 and the word rush begins.

But, I haven’t answered my own question.

This post was “inspired” by a post from Victoria Grefer, a creative writer and blogger extraordinaire, and it made me think, so here I am trying to answer that question.

The short answer is that I can FIND inspiration in many things, being out in Nature, with family and friends, going to museums and even sometimes watching TV, they can all throw up topics or circumstances that get my creative juices flowing. But is that the same question?

If I think about my writing I can get lost in the worlds I have created, their world, their story and for a time, I am watching the story unfold like a slowly playing DVD, frame by frame my characters live out their lives in their own way and not how I “tell them to”.

They are real, their world exists and that DVD plays in my head while I try to focus on what I am doing, but like the background music in a hotel lobby, it never truly goes away. All I need to do is adjust my aerial and they are back in the forefront of my attention.

So, to answer my own question, I suppose my inspiration comes from allowing and encouraging myself to be open to the Great Story and catching part of it as it whirls past.

I think that is some sort of answer, but like the blancmange, I am not sure it truly sticks. 

 

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in psychology, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

