The Master of Invention – names and places

Following on from yesterday’s blog about writers being a creator or the Master of the Universe, I would like to talk a little about names and places in your writing.
As the creator or Master of the Universe, you have complete control on the names you use for characters and places. You can make them up, create a new language, syntax, anything. This is particularly the case with science fiction and fantasy, where whole new worlds open up for your characters and their traits.
According to some research I have done, J M Barrie did not invent the name Wendy for his Peter Pan novels, but he most certainly popularised it and gave it credibility and exposure. It is a beautiful name and I have a distant cousin with that name, so we like it in our family.
In my own writing, Fendrel’s Tale is a fantasy faery story and after much pondering, I chose the name Fendrel for my main character. This is an old Medieval name and felt so right for him when I said it out loud. His leading lady however has a name I made up.
See, I have just fallen into the trap of underselling myself, exactly as I said in yesterday’s blog.
NO, with my Master of the Universe hat on, I CREATED the name Mapelweigh for my leading lady. It sings to me and has such a poetic rhythm when I say or think of it.
I have also created other new names for many characters and places, JRR Tolkien was brilliant at it. I love doing it, it makes my writing feel so special, that I have conjured up something that no one else has ever thought of, ever. It brings an individuality and a sense of achievement to my writing and hope that somewhere down the line, one day I will hear a mother or father call out “Mapelweigh come here, put that down.”
In the trilogy, Fendrel’s Tale there are new places, creatures and people who are as individual as I am and in that, I take great pride that their existence brings something new to the world.
Keep writing, for you know you have to.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Master of Invention – names and places

  1. I like the name choices. And the names of characters are crucial – sometimes they need to be extraordinary such as the ones you picked, other times I keep them distinct but low key depending on the piece I’m writing.There’s definitely a lot of fun to be had thinking up names and which one would suit the character best.

  2. purpleandrew says:

    Thanks for the comment, character names are so important, you wouldn’t have a dragon called fluffy or puff ball, it would be a “hard” name. The name has to fit the character

Leave a Reply

