Awaiting Beta reader comments – talking is so much better than typing

So, I return on a new week with hope and optimism that I can take valuable steps forward in my writing and the usual life stuff.
I had a good long skype yesterday with one of my Beta readers and that conversation fills me with optimism.
The reason, well, putting it politely, she is going to rip the crap out of my work.
Yes, that is correct, I know she will rip into it, despite this being the 7th draft or so (may be 8th, may be 15th draft), either way, as a creative writing teacher, she will give my work what it needs, and I would like to think I am ready for whatever comes.
You see, I am a need to know kind of chap, just as when at the hospital, I want to see the X-ray and talk about it with the doctor, I have asked for examples of the “bad stuff” and just as importantly, what can be done to make it better.
I know this is like pulling the pin out of a hand grenade and counting to eight before throwing it, but it has to be done. I know that whatever my Beta reader does, will be done in truth, for that is in her make up and it why I have asked her to go through my book.
But, and this is the main point of this blog, we spoke about it, we chatted across the ether, rather than the often misinterpretated written messages back and forth. Emails can be so sterile and open to hideous errors in meaning. We now understand what each other wants/can do and that can only be good for my writing. For, at first glance, she thought I wanted her to correct the whole book, a very daunting task on a 140,000 word fantasy novel.
But now, I shall get the correct feedback for me and what I want and how I work.
It can only be good.

I know all of this because I trust her and whatever she says about my work will be done in truth and with love.
I can ask no more of her and it will then be my job, to do her time and effort justice.

Keep writing and when the time is right, talk to your beta readers.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

