Blogs for the writing of Andrew Marsh

What to do?

Just what do you do if you have been on a great writing spurt and have written half a full length novel in two weeks, then suddenly, the next chapter appears and the spark isn’t there?

I ponder this today, for the chapter concerned is, how can I best put it, going to be about a Council Meeting to organise their defences for War. Exciting isn’t it!!

The trouble is, these things can be dull long drawn out affairs and the writing can then look laboured, long winded and bore the reader.

So, what to do?

I am in two minds, which can happen, but usually when I am writing, I am completely focussed and am driven in one direction and hell mend anything that gets in the way.

But today, I swither. Do I stop for the day and hope that tomorrow it will all come together better, or will that just leave me nagging away at myself for not writing.

Procrastination and indecision – those evil twins that rear their ugly heads from time to time.

Or, is this time to have a rest and be refreshed and return bushy tailed another day.

Problem is, I want to get to the next bit because “it is more exciting”.

There, see back to the earlier question. Do I sweep over this chapter, somehow get to the summary and have folk running hither and dither, or do I take it slow and labourously, having all twenty people contribute, debate and decide, (see i told you it would be laboured, twenty people in a meeting, UGH!, been there in real life, they suck!).

This is not a word count issue, the book will be the length it is meant to be when it is finished, so that does not worry me, it will be at least 110,000 words, so no worries there. It is book 3 of trilogy. Book 1 is 142,000, book 2 is 92,000.

Or, do I write the chapter after and come back to this one. Writing out of sequence, danger, danger.

Oh, woe, woe and thrice woe.

It is no good, I may write.

Keep writing for you know you have to…….

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in psychology, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

