The Blogs of Andrew Marsh, fantasy and faery story writer.

WHAT IS YOUR DAILY WRITING ROUTINE?

Interestingly, mine varies according to what I am doing. If writing new material, I write as soon as I am up and after breakfast. I write for as long as I feel the flow, but do set myself a minimum of 1500 words. In most cases my current new writing is easily 3000 words, often over 5000 words and some days 8000 or 10000 words a day.
New writing is done in a quite room, with as few distractions and breaks as possible. This can cause problems, for when I stop, I will realise that five or six hours have passed and I will be hungry or need a drink.
When I am editing or reviewing my own work, I usually have music on, mostly rock or something loud and intense.

What is your writing routine?
Do you set daily targets?

It would be good to know.

Keep writing, for you know you have to.

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Blogs of Andrew Marsh, fantasy and faery story writer.

  1. Terry Tyler says:

    Absolutely cannot write with any noise in the background. When I’m writing I shut my husband in the cupboard.

  2. purpleandrew says:

    Thank you Terry, that made me laugh out loud. My wife wanted to know what on earth caused that, the expalantion about a “woman” i met on the internet took a lot longer than the blog did to set up,
    keep writing, for you know you have to

  3. Not entirely true, but I admit it was a change from ‘What’s for lunch, I’m starving’

  4. Reblogged this on thejanusparadigm and commented:
    What are your thoughts on theprocess of writing…the discipline involved in making a commitment to a project that will take up so much of your time? Do you think it is ecologically viable for you and those around you? Is it something that you aspire to be able to do? Let me know

Leave a Reply

